Malla Nunn

Malla Nunn is the author of four internationally published Detective Emmanuel Cooper novels set at the beginning of the Apartheid era in 1950s South Africa. A Beautiful Place to DieLet the Dead LieBlessed Are the Dead and Present Darkness have, between them, received two Edgar Award nominations, a RUSA Award for Best Mystery Novel, and a Davitt Award for best crime novel by an Australian author. 

Born and raised in Eswatini in Southern Africa, Malla now lives and works in Sydney, Australia.

Latest news & interviews


Join the HNSA Community

Our foundation partner

Our partner

Historical Novel Society

Our Sponsors

HNSA Newsletter Updates

Subscribe to our newsletter for interviews, reviews, news and more!