You’re Invited to the 2020 ARA Historical Novel Prize Award Ceremony

We’re announcing the winner of the inaugural ARA Historical Novel Prize at 7.30pm (AEDST) on Tuesday 10 November. We’d love you to join us to celebrate the news.

Hosted by Brooke Boney, the award ceremony will be held by both video broadcast and live stream via the HNSA YouTube channel. To be one of the first to hear the news, be sure to subscribe to the HNSA YouTube channel now.

The winner will receive $50,000, with $5000 to be paid to each of the two remaining shortlisted authors.

The 2020 Shortlist

On 28 October, the Historical Novel Society Australasia (HNSA), alongside ARA Group, announced the 2020 shortlist for the inaugural ARA Historical Novel Prize.  The 2020 ARA Historical Novel Prize shortlist is:

For further information, visit 2020 ARA Historical Fiction Prize Shortlist, and the 2020 ARA Historical Fiction Prize Longlist.

About the ARA Historical Novel Prize

Applications for the ARA Historical Novel Prize were open to all authors — whether traditionally or self-published — who are residents or citizens of Australia or New Zealand, with books published between 1 January 2019 and 30 June 2020.

The definition of the genre set for the prize ensures a breadth of talented writers was eligible to enter. Under the entry criteria, historical fiction was defined as a novel written at least 50 years after the events described, or by an author not alive at the time of the events described, who therefore must approach those events only through research.

Don’t forget to subscribe to the HNSA YouTube channel to help us celebrate the winner of the inaugural ARA Historical Novel Prize.

Latest news & interviews


Join the HNSA Community

Our foundation partner

Our Sponsors

HNSA Newsletter Updates

Subscribe to our newsletter for interviews, reviews, news and more!