The next episode in our 2024 season of Imagining the Past features Melissa Lucashenko discussing with Greg Johnston the research and writing of her novel, Edenglassie – a brilliant story that boldly reclaims and reframes the colonial narrative.

Melissa Lucashenko is a Goorie author of Bundjalung and European heritage. Her first novel, Steam Pigs, was published in 1997 and since then her work has received acclaim in many literary awards. Too Much Lip is her sixth novel and won the 2019 Miles Franklin Literary Award and the Queensland Premier’s Award for a Work of State Significance.

It was also shortlisted for the Prime Minister’s Literary Award for Fiction, the Stella Prize, two Victorian Premier’s Literary Awards, two Queensland Literary Awards and two NSW Premier’s Literary Awards. Melissa is a Walkley Award winner for her non-fiction, and a founding member of human rights organisation Sisters Inside.

About Edenglassie

In the historic settlement of Edenglassie, Mulanyin, a proud member of the saltwater people, meets the enchanting Nita. Despite the growing presence of British settlers, their community remains resilient. As colonial tensions escalate, Mulanyin dreams of a future in Yugambeh Country with Nita, but his aspirations for independence are thwarted by the harsh realities of colonial justice.

Fast forward two hundred years, and we encounter Winona, a passionate activist, and Dr Johnny, a dedicated physician. Their paths converge as they care for the spirited centenarian, Granny Eddie. The chemistry between Winona and Johnny is undeniable, though not without its challenges. Unbeknownst to them, the powerful legacies of their ancestors continue to shape their contemporary lives in profound ways.

The Imagining the Past podcast series features authors appearing at the Historical Novel Society Australasia biennial conferences or who have been recognised in our $150,000 ARA Historical Novel Prize.

Our hosts, Kelly Gardiner and Greg Johnston, discuss researching, writing and publishing historical fiction with acclaimed writers of the genre in its many forms from crime to fantasy to literary fiction, set in eras stretching from ancient times to the Swinging Sixties, and for readers of all ages.

Longlists Announced: 4 September
Shortlists Announced: 25 September
Winners Announced: 17 October

Subscribe to our HNSA newsletter to be the first to hear of our new podcast releases.

Latest news & interviews


Join the HNSA Community

Our foundation partner

Our Sponsors

HNSA Newsletter Updates

Subscribe to our newsletter for interviews, reviews, news and more!