News & Interviews

Podcast

IMAGINING THE PAST: IN CONVERSATION WITH FIONA KELLY MCGREGOR

In the next episode of our 2024 season, Fiona Kelly McGregor discusses with Kelly Gardiner the many intricacies of writing her novel, Iris, shortlisted for the 2023 ARA Historical Novel Prize—Adult Category. The Imagining the Past podcast series features authors appearing at the Historical Novel Society Australasia biennial conferences or have been recognised in our

Read More »
Podcast

IMAGINING THE PAST – IN CONVERSATION WITH ROBBIE ARNOTT

The next episode in our 2024 season of Imagining the Past features Robbie Arnott discussing with Greg Johnston the many intricacies of writing the novel Limberlost, based on his family folklore and longlisted for the 2023 ARA Historical Novel Prize—Adult Category. Robbie Arnott’s acclaimed debut, Flames (2018), won a Sydney Morning Herald Best Young Novelist

Read More »
Giveaways

Giveaway – To Sing of War by Catherine McKinnon

Inspired by McKinnon’s own family history, To Sing of War is a rich, compelling and intricately woven novel of love, war, and friendship, perfect for readers of Anthony Doerr, Richard Flanagan, Shirley Hazzard and Barbara Kingsolver. December 1944: In New Guinea, a young Australian nurse, Lotte Wyld, chances upon her first love, Virgil Nicholson, there

Read More »
Giveaways

GIVEAWAY- FREE BY MEG KENEALLY

Time for another giveaway! Echo Publishing is very kindly offering 5 copies of Free by Meg Keneally. Inspired by historical figures and actual events, Free shines a light on the indomitable figure who rose from horse thief to the merchant queen of Sydney Cove. In a story told with warmth and compassion for those who

Read More »
Giveaways

Giveaway – All the Golden Light by Siobhan O’Brien

Time for a giveaway for our HNSA newsletter subscribers! Thanks to Harper Collins Publishers, there are 5 copies of Siobhan O’Brien’s debut release, All the Golden Light. The novel is a sweeping work of historical fiction, exploring First World War Australia and how we find connection, meaning and beauty in a time of darkness. Perfect

Read More »
Podcast

Imagining the past – in conversation with amelia mellor

Our 2024 season of Imagining the Past has kicked off! Our first episode features Amelia Mellor, winner of the 2023 ARA Historical Novel Prize – CYA category. Amelia discusses with our podcast host, Greg Johnston, the intricacies of writing CYA historical fiction, and her award-winning novel, The Bookseller’s Apprentice. Click below to listen to the

Read More »

Join the HNSA Community

SUBSCRIBE TO OUR NEWSLETTER

Our foundation partner

Our Sponsors

HNSA Newsletter Updates

Subscribe to our newsletter for interviews, reviews, news and more!